PDA

View Full Version : We are doing some CFD analysis of a MK1 over on the US MR2OC

Bill Strong
09-06-2007, 13:34
Can you guys come over and offer some of your expert opinions?

http://www.mr2oc.com/showthread.php?p=2630951#post2630951

I am not an engineer, but I do read a lot of engineering books and play with real life cars. So this stuff is of great interest to me. I know that you brits are also into the next level of design and not just into 200mph paint jobs. :)

Barronmr
09-06-2007, 14:27
That thread is a great read, unfortunately I've no idea about flow dynamics.

Anyone know if a mk1 could be made as aero dynamic as a mk2?

Co-drag eff for the mk2 I think is 0.29 (not 100% but thats what my memeory says)

nik
09-06-2007, 15:04
wow...v.interesting..wish this was pre-mr2only article on aero..!!
will come and join in after ive had some sleep..

Paul Woods
09-06-2007, 15:08
a great thread indeed! wish i could contribute but sadly my knowledge in this area is practically zero.... makes very interesting reading though!

biteme
09-06-2007, 15:38
That's one hell of a read. Waaaay over my head though. Sorry, Bill.

Bill Strong
09-06-2007, 18:02
Oh come on! Brits are more highly edumicated in this sort of thing :)
A-levels and all and on 4-channels of TV should make you much smarter! lol
My oldest (22 years) was educated by the English system! and she is really smart!

I am actually not wanting to make an aero MK2 copy. what I want to accomplish is to make a stable 200mph MK1. That and make my race car (4age powered) faster up the hills.

Bill Strong
09-06-2007, 19:25
http://www.mr2oc.com/showthread.php?t=250308&page=2&pp=30

hopefully this explains it a bit better... but remember... I am not a trained engineer, I am only book taught and am pretty much guessing at some of this.
So please do not take my posts as absolute fact. remember, I am a yank

randomfactor
09-06-2007, 19:37