View Full Version : check engine in my 1.5!

onepointfive
11-02-2010, 00:27
need help guys.. I'm not that good with mechanic nor electric work yet... still learning and reading here helps a lot. thanks paul woods for this forum. :)

the cel codes that I got were..

1.) 32 (air flow meter signal )
2.) 41 ( throttle position sensor signal )
3.) 43 ( starter signal)
4.) 52 ( knock sensor signal )

things i tried doing...
1.) replace ecu with a good one ( working from a different car )
2.) replace afm ( from a working car too)

but still the same.. I still got the check engine light on. I re-set the ecu too then tried to start it up again but same thing.. The car still runs though. Thanks mate.

GregLeBon
11-02-2010, 08:03
Thats a lot of sensor faults...!

Perhaps its worth checking the sensor ground signal at the ECU end...

..or the rev voltage sent to the AFM / TPS, for that matter...?

From what I can tell, the sensor ground (E2) is at one end of the 16-pin ECU connector, and the sensor ref V is the pin opposite this......?

Maybe your ECU connector has worked loose at that end?

I would suspect that both of these vital sensors failing at the same time is not really likely, and the ground / ref signal is common to both...so a good starting point..?

If you have a multimeter, you can buzz out the loom from ECU to the 2 x sensors (i'm not sure which pins on a 3S-GTE), but if you buzz each in turn at the sensor end, to the ECU connector 16-way, you should get a beep from one wire in each sensor connector....

I'm sure someone more knowledgeable will be along soon......:blabla:

onepointfive
12-02-2010, 06:10
i know it's a lot of sensors to just suddenly pop up! I don't know what to do.. I'll try to look for the e2 ground and the ecu connector..

anyone have more ideas?

GregLeBon
12-02-2010, 07:46
The ECU should be in the boot, behind the card panel over the panel that separates the boot from the engine......