PDA

View Full Version : cant decide on an engine!

BennyTheW
04-02-2010, 14:28
Im still in the throws of umming and arrring about which engine im gona go for...

I really like the idea of doing some of the work myself, im an aircraft mechanic so the spanner stuff doesnt scare me, but i have 0 skill with a welder and fabrication isnt something ive done loads of ether...

hopefully when i move down to norwich (june) i might have some garage space but if not im just gona have to send the retro rocket up to Mr Woods for some fettling.. :)

I use the car as a daily so i want something that isnt gona kill me when i go to the shops,
i want to keep the car as useable as pos, so the boot has to stay and i would like to be able to refit the original boot trim after any mods, (is that pos with the 3sgte?)
obviously i want a fast car, but even the 4age'd version is the fastest car ive owned so maybe thats subjective...

my choices are
v6, worried about affecting the handling tho... what would be the curb weight of a tintop with a v6 fitted, expected bhp/ton?

3sgte, i know its a madman and i wouldnt want anything faster after but the boot being stolen isnt an option(would i have to go for a charge cooler) and it is bloody expensive to build!

2zzfe, 190 bhp=less than the other two, but it is lighter than the 4age so should give good returns+6speed box :drool::drool::drool: i have no idea the expected 0/60 time on this ether... any guesses? ( something tells me that even tho the 3sgte would make me grin my ass off, the 2zz would probs suit my driving style better)

i know i should pull my finger out and get started but when i cant even decide an engine type it makes it hard! lol

Thanks... Ben...

biteme
04-02-2010, 14:35
Given your options, I'd say if you were wanting a V6, then look at the 1MZ. The 3SGTE is nuts, but you could also try a BEAMS?