Page 1 of 33 1234511 ... LastLast

Thread: Project Phoenix - A barn find story

Project Phoenix - A barn find story

The Beginning

I'm a computer games designer from Shropshire, and I work in Coventry, so my daily driver has been a Ford Fiesta Mk7 TDCi Zetec S for the last year. I've modded it and played with it as much as my warranty will allow, but because I need it every day to be reliable and get me to work; I really shouldn't be playing with it, looks nice tho right?.

So whilst helping my dad the other day, I was asked to go cut some lengths of carpet off some rolls that he had in storage at "a mates barn thing" so I toddled off in the van to go and find them.

I also found this:

She looked all sad and forgotten, and because the barn was also used as an airsoft playground; she looked a bit 'shot at' :/

SO a plan was hatched!! Lets save this MR2 from the scrap man.

I made a deal with the owner of the barn to save it, and after fixing the siezed brakes, flat tyres, and a few other little niggles, I pushed her to the door to get her home.

And a few days, a helpful uncle, and two dead winches later. Shes home :D

The Plan

I'm in this project with my Uncle, hes either going to be a helping hand, or a ruling hand, depending on how he feels. So I think I will class the following as 'Plan A' as he may have his own ideas.

So; Plan A:

Engine

As yet undecided, I want to do something a bit different as a Ford Fan, so I'm thinking of using a 5 pot from a Volvo. But as its probably going to be a lot easier to do, A 1MZ might be the engine I choose.

The 'box and drivetrain will all come as a direct result of the engine choice, but I will go with a gearbox rebuild for either conversion + 6th gear mod.

Chassis

Polybushed all round
    Adjustable control arms where available
    Gaz Gold Coilover Kit
    Everything that is serviceable will be removed, blasted, Pol15'd, sprayed, and placed back on the car.

Body

Front:
    New, lighter front end by using