Thread: 1MZ-FE vvti ECU – Diagnostic (and/or Flashing) Software Suggestions

1MZ-FE vvti ECU – Diagnostic (and/or Flashing) Software Suggestions

Hi All

Last spring, Paul Woods very kindly fitted my Toyota Harrier 1MZ-FE vvti engine into my little Silver Mk1b. It is fantastic and I cannot recommend Woodsport highly enough. I wish I could drive the car more.

Recently, I’ve noticed that the inside of the exhaust is quite black and sooty. When I was a boy and played with Spitfires, I think this indicated a rich mixture.

Now I’m a novice when it comes to ‘modern’ (1987!) cars, but I get the general idea. The ECU measures various things and adjusts the fuel/air mixture to keep it close to stoichiometric. I imagine this remains subject to a bit of variation depending upon other conditions; say if I stamp hard on the gas the ECU might change the mixture to deliver more power. (Is this close?)

This got me thinking about plugging in my laptop to the OBD2 cable in my boot and checking the AFR. I’ve done something similar using VCDS (Paul’s infamous ‘robomuff’) on our Audis at home. And that got me thinking about my Harrier ECU. It may still think it’s in a 2-ton-truck. And that thought has me thinking about flashing the ECU...

So, questions to the forum:

- Does anyone know of some decent diagnostic software a novice can use to check out my Toyota Harrier 1MZ-FE vvti ECU. (?Might VCDS work? – I’ve noticed a ‘generic’ mode.)
    - Similarly, can anyone suggest some software I might use to update the ECU?
    - And, what should I be reading before I break something vital?

As ever, any and all suggestions, help, knowledge and ideas very welcome indeed.

Kind regards to all
    David

I think the default ECU is read-only, you can't change it, but you are on the right lines with OBD2 - was a connector fitted in the transplant ?
    - There is the 'bluetooth dongle' approach, where you can get data from the ECU on your mobile (See the Torque app)