Page 1 of 7 12345 ... LastLast

Thread: My new Mk1b!

My new Mk1b!

I got this home today and I am pretty pleased with it. It's been on ebay for a couple of weeks I think, and the high mileage (140k) had put me off. The more I studied the pictures though, the better it looked. I love the colour, and I think it's pretty rare - certainly I don't remember seeing another Mk1 in grey/gunmetal/whatever-Toyota-call-it. It's had some welding to the pillars, and probably the rear arches as well, but it looks like a good job and the paintwork is very nice. Floorpans are good, sills look good, no rust around the screen or the sunroof. Oh, and it has electric mirrors, a nearly new genuine Toyota exhaust, and it was only ten miles from home!

Job list at present is:
    New bushes everywhere and maybe new springs/dampers
    Bigger rear ARB
    Tiny patches in drivers B-pillar and passenger A-pillar need welding
    Brake master cylinder has leaked and stripped the paint from the frunk - no rust yet though
    Replace stripe sticker on front bumper bar
    Replace top windscreen trim and a couple of its plastic clips which are missing
    Check drivers door alignment - it's catching on the wing as it opens
    Get busy with the Dinitrol/waxoyl/hammerite as required to keep it in good nick for as long as possible!

Proper brutalisation of it will have to wait until i can find a cheap donor car. Oh, and decide on an engine! I'd love to get a set of bronze japanese wheels for it, I've always loved them on a dark grey car, but I'd be looking at £750+ which is almost what I paid for the car! Perhaps someone could photoshop a set of these on for me?

Rota Grid V

Here's a couple of photos from the previous owner, there are 70 more at

photobucket link

Ooh, I like that color. Nice find!

That's a damn pretty looking one - You running it over winter or getting it garaged so you can get all the rust proofing done at your leisure?