thread: Steering wheel knoking noise repair

Aug 2006
    Greece

MK1 Steering wheel knocking noise/ repair

Pointed one of the silly knock when you play the steering wheel and got it fixed here is how.
    Really easy even for me that i have no mechanical knowledge whatsoever, to check if you need this repair, duck under the steering wheel and play the steering wheel left right, you have optical view of the part and you can determine if this really is the issue with your case, play the steering left right in short bursts and fast (you should hear the classic mk1 knock knock), at the same time, look under there, it is just behind and between brake petal and accelaration, and check the pinion which is mated with the u join, those should move together as a whole, if not then you have got the issue, even the slightest delay in movement will create a knock and will get worse as time goes by

1) Remove column, not needed probably, you could weld it while on car, but it is a bit tight, and you have to work upside down, + without clear view of the part
    Remove the trims/plastic under the steering wheel plenty of screws and cables to watch out, this will give access to the column bolts
    remove the bolt thats hold the U join to the pinion ,also remove the 2 upper 12mm bolts and the two 14mm lower where the circles are in the pic,
    also disconnect 3 or 4 plugs from the column to the wiring loom

now the column should be free

importand note 1: first remove the u join bolt then all the rest, the column it self is heavy and if you do it the other way arround you will have to support the column, as well as turn the steering to get good access to the u joint bolt and also work the tool to unbolt,which is usually stuck after 20 years of use :) oh and all this in a worm position with limited hand movement