PDA

View Full Version : mk1.5 gearbox questions...

Jim-SR
01-02-2009, 20:52
just been consdering some things, and am thinking about gearboxes and ratios.

used the search function to good effect, ive managed to figure out the E153 mk2 turbo ratios, and the S54 (mk2 N/A?) ratios, plus the US market S54 ratios.

in terms of what im considering, the S54 UK box is probably useable, but first and second gear are too long. the S54 US box is shorter all round but probably still useable for top end. the E153 is the best all round, its short at the bottom and long at the top and would probably be the best suited box, if a little long in 5th

however, im totally new to the whole mk1.5 concept, my considerations have never stretched past super tuned 4A-GE's, and more recently 2ZZ engines. but the 2ZZ is an expensive and complicated swap for not a lot of power (220bhp at a push normally aspirated), whilst the 3S-GTE can do that standing on its head straight out of the box!

so my questions are...

1. are final drives interchangeable on these boxes for ones from other models? and if so, what are the shortest final drives you can get in the S54 and the E153 boxes?

2. are first gears changeable to something longer?

3. what is the most power people have run through the S54 and E153 reliably with a turbo motor?

4. as #3, but for the driveshaft options! with the driveshafts that are used for these conversions, what is the most power you can push through the S54 and E153 driveshaft setups?

any info is greatly appreciated. if i can establish a gearbox option that will work for me then i will start collecting 3S-GTE parts and head along the mk1.5 path i think, instead of spending the same money on a 2ZZ-GE and then having to turbo it later because its too slow for the rest of the car

P.S...

5. are there any LSD options on the above gearboxes? im guessing there are LSD's already fitted to all/some of the E153's, and plenty of aftermarket options?

robwsurf
01-02-2009, 21:10